900mn to vote in Indian elections, but expats in Oman can't

900mn to vote in Indian elections, but expats in Oman can't

900mn to vote in Indian elections, but expats in Oman can't

The Election Commission on Sunday announced seven-phase polls to the Lok Sabha and four state assemblies, to be held from April 11to May 19.

Detailing about the polls, Sunil Arora said, "1st phase polling to be held on 11th April, 2nd phase on 18th April, 3rd phase on 23rd April, 4th phase polling to be held on 29th April, 5th phase polling on 6th May, 6th phase polling on 12th May, 7th phase 12th May". Andhra Pradesh and Telangana are going for the elections in the First Phase itself. Contrary to expectations, no elections will be held in Jammu and Kashmir, which has been without an elected government since June a year ago when BJP pulled out of its alliance with the PDP.

The required electronic voting machines and paper trail machines are in place to be deployed in almost 10 lakh polling stations across 543 Lok Sabha constituencies. If any untoward incident or violation of any law/rule is noticed, action would be taken immediately, the commission said. "India is very proud of the EC for assiduously organising elections for several years".

The counting of votes for all the phases will be held on May 23, the country's top election official told reporters. "I urge my fellow Indians to enrich the 2019 Lok Sabha elections with their active participation".

The first phase of elections on April 11 covers the maximum number of states - 91 constituencies across 20 states.

Political parties, including BJP and PDP, had earlier this month urged the poll watchdog to hold central and state elections simultaneously in J&K.

Celebrities at Akash Ambani and Shloka Mehta’s wedding celebration
Yesterday was a big day for the Ambani family as Akash Ambani tied the knot with Shloka Mehta in a lavish ceremony. The Ambanis and Mehtas hosted Mangal Parv on Sunday after Akash Ambani and Shloka Mehta's wedding on Saturday.

Karnataka, Manipur, Rajasthan, Tripura will go to polls in two phases.

Polls will be held on April 18, 2019 in a total of 97 constituencies spread across 13 states.

National Conference leader and former state chief minister Omar Abdullah slammed withholding of assembly elections and criticised the Modi government.

Jammu and Kashmir will have five phases and West Bengal, Bihar and Uttar Pradesh will have seven phases.

"What happened to @rajnathsingh's assurance to Lok Sabha & Rajya Sabha as well as to the all party meeting recently in Delhi that all forces would be made available for simultaneous polls?", Omar said in one tweet.

Related news

[an error occurred while processing the directive]