1st-year starting QB will win Heisman

And only five Heisman winners have failed to win AP Player of the Year since the award started in 1998.

Tagovailoa would be Alabama's first quarterback to win the award and third player in history, joining running backs Mark Ingram and Derrick Henry, both of whom also played under head coach Nick Saban.

This week, he has been named the AP Player of the Year and the Davey O'Brien Award victor, and he hopes to add the Heisman Trophy to his collection Saturday night in NY.

Murray joins Baker Mayfield (2017), Josh Heupel (2000), Jason White (2003) and Sam Bradford (2008) as previous winners from Oklahoma. Haskins threw for 396 yards and six touchdowns against MI to push the Buckeyes to a Big Ten title. Tagovailoa won two player of the year awards, taking the Walter Camp and Maxwell awards. No other school has had more than two AP Player of the Year winners.

Brian Hartline, the current wide receivers coach for the Buckeyes who played seven seasons in the National Football League, had to teach the media on Twitter about why Haskins should be the frontrunner for the award.

De Jong on possible PSG deal: Nothing decided yet
As well as spending some of his young career in defence, De Jong is a deep-lying midfield playmaker who also likes to dribble. Ajax star Frenkie De Jong seemingly has the pick of Europe's top clubs and he's been linked with majority in recent months.

In a normal year, he'd be a shoo-in for the award.

Oklahoma quarterback Kyler Murray is adding to his trophy case. This season's finalists, each still with at least one more game, have passed for 11,986 yards and 124 touchdowns, completing 69.7 percent of their passes at 10.6 yards per attempt.

Behind Murray, the University of Oklahoma has the top rated offense in the country, averaging over 8 yard per play.

I think NBCSports may be confused, Brian.

Murray was selected ninth overall by the Oakland Athletics in the 2018 MLB Draft last summer and said he plans to stop playing football after the season in order to focus on his professional baseball career. He is a finalist for the award with Ohio State quarterback Dwayne Haskins and Alabama quarterback Tua Tagovailoa.

Related news

[an error occurred while processing the directive]